Endorphines Don’t Work For Me Anymore. Gimme Some Dopamine. Or A Cheesburger.


Endorphines.Endorphines are endogenous opioid polypeptide compounds. They are produced by the pituitary gland and the hypothalamus in vertebrates during exercise, excitement, pain, consumption of spicy foodorgasm,and they resemble the opiates in their abilities to produce analgesia and a feeling of well-being. Endorphins work as “natural pain relievers. The term endorphin rush has been adopted in popular speech to refer to feelings of exhilaration brought on by pain, danger, or other forms of stress, supposedly due to the influence of endorphins.

Either my endorphines are working too well, causing me to work out until the point of throwing up. Or they’re non-existent, because every time I workout, I feel like dying.

It’s strange. Week three, I feel more energized, more strong, and I feel like I want to do more, push myself more, and I’m not as tired or loafty during the day. I think better, and my mood is better. I find I’m reacting to things more cognitively and reasonably, and nothing seems to piss me off anymore. Either I really don’t care about anything anymore, or this diet is doing something positive to my mood.

Another thing I’ve noticed about myself is I seem to be slimming up and becoming more slender. No more beefy stocky shoulders or chest. I’m more shapely and getting chiseled, but I’m not as buff as I used to be. So either I did lose muscle mass, or I leaned out. Which makes me think. The fat that I used to have probably was helping me LOOK buff. If that makes any sense.

Despite the leaning out, however, I still have that stubborn little pot belly. That annoying lil spare tire that just wont go away. Again I’m back to my four pack. However, it’s different this time. The tire is smaller. But yet, a lil more prominent? Seems like I’m losing all the fat and it’s all centralizing in one spot. So on my third week. 2 and a half weeks into this diet and exercise. I’ve set some new goals. First, get a 6 pack. Second, maintain this new lifestyle. Forever. I think I can do it. Tomorrow is cheat day. Which means burger day. And beer day. Maybe. I think I might split it. Burger tomorrow. Beers on Saturday.

Leave a Reply

