It’s Expensive to Eat Healthy!


Half a cup of quinoa and red lentils with a toss of asparagus, roasted red peppers, mushrooms, carrots, chick peas, and snow peas. $8.50. Burger, fries, and a can of soda. $6 and change. I’ve realized that my biggest challenge to this challenge of mine isn’t the working out, the intensity of my workouts, or the frequency, or even the motivation to work out. It’s what I put in my body that’s the challenge!

I use to think that I could eat anything I wanted, so long as I could burn it off. But now I’m aiming for real results. And I’ve done away with that foolish train of though. Diet isn’t everything, but it’s a key component to overall weight loss and metabolism. What I’m cutting out now is all the fats, fried stuff, carb loaded stuff, white starchy, and sugary crap that I’ve been putting in me. Gonna try a whole food diet (trying actually, been on it for 4 days now) with home cooked meats and proteins. Baked, broiled, steamed stuff.

It’s all said and good, but I did my revamped grocery list today, and the cost of eating every two hours, eating whole foods, and fresh foods all the time, every week is actually costing me more than if I stuck to canned, microwaved, stewed stuff. A pot of stew would only cost me total $10-15 dollars to make and would last me a week and a half. Apples, carrots, celery, spinach, asparagus, sweet potatos will cost me only about $8-$10. But will only last me a few days. 3 or 4 at most.

More research, here I go. Perhaps the next week, it will be a budget challenge coupled with more weight loss challenges!

Going on day 4 now. Noticeable increase in muscle mass. Still tubby around the waist line, but sleep and good eating has actually improved my digestion. Not as bloated anymore!

Scribble Notes:

Guys need protein. But be careful of your intake. You can take in as much as you want, but if you’re not using it, it just turns to fat. Moderate your protein intake to match your muscle building routine!

Leave a Reply

